Analyst Apologizes For Wrong Call in Packers Game

Analyst Apologizes For Wrong Call in Packers Game

On Sunday’s Green Bay Packers game on CBS, rules expert Gene Steratore got a rule entirely incorrect. Wide receiver Romeo Doubs wrestled a ball away from Patrick Surtain, giving both players concurrent control. Streatore stated that he believed Surtain had two hands on the ball and both feet down, indicating possession.

 

 

Analyst Apologizes For Wrong Call in Packers Game

 

 

Fans quickly pointed out that this is false, and that the officials made the proper call on the field. Today, Streatore apologized for his error. If only we could obtain such a declaration from a real referee. Streatore stated this on social media.

“No matter what you do, owning up and taking accountability is how you get better. My interpretation of the play in (Packers-Broncos) was incorrect. I overthought it and just missed it. As a ref (whether grade school or pro), you learn the most from the <5% of calls that you miss,”

 

 

Analyst Apologizes For Wrong Call in Packers Game

 

 

Streatore concluded that he had missed the call after researching the regulation. On the broadcast, he was adamant that Surtain should have been awarded the interception, but after the fact, he acknowledged his error. I, for one, congratulate him for apologizing.

Analyst Apologizes For Wrong Call in Packers Game

Inadvertently, Gene Streatore apologized to Green Bay Packers supporters. This is in stark contrast to the Denver Broncos, who continue to believe it was an interception. The Packers will return to play against their division rivals, the Minnesota Vikings, next week.

You May Also Like